Email Marketing as Your NYC Event Guide

New York City is one of the best places in the country for live events, whether it be a concert, festival or even a sports game. To stay up to date with events, one of my favorite email subscriptions has to be from TicketNetwork.com. I purchased tickets from the website a while back, and have been receiving their email subscriptions ever since my purchase. Ticket Network typically sends an email every 2-3 days around 10am. In my Digital Marketing class we learned that a company should send emails as often as it can create valuable content (my professors blog can be found here). TicketNetwork usually sends two emails regarding very similar, or almost the same content as the previous, which I think can be quite repetitive in regards to valuable content. I definitely do not always click on every email they send me; only because you can really understand what the email entails based on the subject line. For an example, I will be focusing on two different emails from the company.

In a concert-based email, Ticket Network tends to name the highly recognized artists in the subject line, and if those artists seem relevant to me, I would typically open the email. If I don’t recognize anyone in the subject line I am definitely less likely to open the email. I would say that I open about 60% of TicketNetwork.com’s emails. The subject line always matches the content, and if anything understates everything happening in the email. Therefore I know I need to open it up sometimes to see if there are more artists not listed in the subject field.

Let’s take a look at the email below:

Ticket network

The subject line is “Matchbox Twenty & Counting Crows, Florida Georgia Line and Lady Gaga Tickets On Sale Now!” but when you scroll down through the email there are a lot more artists presented and other trending events mentioned.

buy tix.png

Still, the subject line is definitely consistent with what is found in the email. The call to action in the email would be that under every event listed there is a button that states “Buy Now”. I do not find myself following through with a purchase too often, but I click the button quite a bit to check out price ranges of the events, and even search other websites to see if I can find cheaper tickets. I rarely follow up with actually purchasing tickets via this “buy tickets” button, because buying tickets is more of a process for me. I find that I normally have to make sure some of my friends want to go, so it may not really be a “one click- one time” type of deal. Ticket Network is ultimately my source of finding out about the events, since they send emails about every 3 days with concert lineups.

I think a major key to making this event listing more desirable may be to include price ranges in the emails so the reader has a better understanding of how cheap or how expensive these tickets may be. Without listing prices, a reader can easily be directed away and Google search the prices themselves, rather than grabbing that information from your email.

When you scroll through the email you can “view venues near you”, that tailor to your location. Below, you can see that TicketNetwork is locating me correctly, at school in the Albany region, based on their venue recommendations.

events near you

I don’t believe that the artists listed in the email are necessarily segmented and different for certain individuals. Yet, I don’t find this as a negative thing, because I also subscribe to the company Ticketmaster.com’s emails, which are definitely catered towards my past purchases and likes as an individual, and sometimes I find that I actually prefer a broader range of artists to be aware of, rather than what I typically buy.

A second email I received (shown below) shares many of the same qualities as the previous email described, as it is still not exactly tailored to a segment, and more of an informative set-up.

aseball 1

The email is not concert based but actually regarding baseball tickets. Since baseball season officially started, and I am a die-hard NY Yankees fan, I was intrigued. The subject line reads, “Don’t miss out – See how you can walk-off with free baseball tickets!” I personally love baseball, so this subject line definitely grabbed my attention by calling me to not “miss out” and by using the word “free”. When you click the email you are directed to an explanation of how your tickets can become free if your game ends with a walk-off home run, and all of the MLB teams you can choose to buy tickets for. When I click the NY Yankees, I am immediately directed to a webpage where I can purchase Yankee tickets. Having this feature is awesome because the reader does not have to search for their teams themselves. Additionally, at the bottom of the email, it mentions that if you do not like baseball, there are more events that you can check out, which I think is good to have.

baseball 3

Although, most people that do not like baseball would probably not even open that email to begin with, it is always a good thing to still try to appeal to people that may not be a fan of what you are advertising.

Ticketnetwork.com’s email marketing accomplishes its objective of giving you the awareness of events and opportunity to buy tickets, and makes it very straightforward and simple with just the click of a button. The company typically sends two emails with the same artists listed in the subject line, and there have already been two emails sent out about Matchbox Twenty and The Counting Crows, so my prediction for the next email would be the same type of event layout with “buy now” buttons for each artist, but different artists in the subject line.

I really do look forward to these emails because they are not full of useless information and they help me stay aware of all possible events around me. I hope you find that true as well!

logo_large.1476233800

Leave a Reply

